SPAN operates an open membership to its working groups. Please contact to join one of the working groups. Membership of the SPAN board is outlined in the Terms of Reference for SPAN. The board comprises of the Chair of SPAN, the Chairs of each of the Working Groups, representatives of universities contributing to the funding of SPAN, and representatives of UKSA, government fund laboratories and UKRI.

Professor Andrew Holland (Chair of SPAN)

Chair of SPAN, Director, Centre for Electronic Imaging and the Space Strategic Research Area, Open University, Walton Hall, Milton Keynes, Chair of the Space Science and Exploration Working Group

Professor Andrew Fazakerley

Director, Mullard Space Science Laboratory University College London and member of the Space Science and Exploration Working Group

Dr Neil Bowles

Atmospheric Physics Clarendon Laboratory Oxford and member of the Space Science and Exploration Working Group

Professor Kai Bongs

Director of the UK National Quantum Technology Hub in Sensors and Metrology, University of Birmingham and member of the Space Engineering and Technology Working Group

Dr Stephen Hobbs

Chair of the Engineering and Technology Working Group, Director, Cranfield Space Research Centre, Cranfield University

Professor John Remedios

Chair of the Earth Observation Sciences Working Group, Director, National Centre for Earth Observation (NCEO), University of Leicester

Professor Christopher Mutlow

Director, RAL Space, STFC RAL

Professor Gillian Wright

Director, UK Astronomy Technology Centre

Dr Colin Vincent

Head of Astronomy Division and ESO Council UK delegate, STFC

Dr Andrew Lawrence

Head of Engineering, Capability Delivery, EPSRC

Representative of NERC

NERC - the Natural Environment Research Council - is the UK's leading public funder of environmental science. Investing £330 million each year in cutting-edge research, postgraduate training and innovation in universities and research centres.

UKSA Growth Directorate

Members from the Growth Directorate in Industrial Strategy, Regional Growth, Technology or specific applications areas attend as appropriate.

Chris Lee

Chief Scientist/Head of Science Programmes, UKSA representative

Representative of the Space Universities Network

One of the three co-Chairs of SUN attend the SPAN Board meetings

Representative of UK Space

Professor Mark Sims

Professor in Astrobiology and Space Instrumentation

Professor Tim Horbury

Professor of Space Physics Director, Imperial Space Lab, Imperial College London

Prof Richard Harrison MBE

Chief Scientist

Paul Ecceleston

Chief Engineer

Dr Manish Patel

Senior Lecturer

Dr Jonathan Eastwood

Senior Lecturer

Professor Don Pollacco

Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics

Dr Ewan Fitzsimons


Professor Mark Cropper

Professor of Astrophysics

Professor Paul O'Brien

Head of Department Department of Physics and Astronomy

Professor Richard Ambrosi

Space Instrumentation & Space Nuclear Power Systems

Dr Nigel Bannister

Senior Lecturer

Professor Matt Griffin

Head of School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Cardiff

Dr Chris Bridges

Senior Lecturer in On-Board Data Handling

Professor Lucy Berthoud

Chair of the Space Universities Network University of Bristol

Professor Hugh Lewis

Astronautics University of Southampton

Professor Malcolm Macdonald

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering University of Strathclyde

Dr Gary Verth

Senior Lecturer in mathematical modelling of plasma processes, e.g., with application to the Sun's atmosphere. Interested in rocketry and student space competitions.

Dr Viktor Fedun

Senior Lecturer in Control and Systems Engineering

Dr Matthew Soman

Image Sensor Scientist

Dr Richard Cole

Industrial Programme Manager

Dr Peter Shaw

Senior Lecturer in Astronautics

Professor Terry Moore

Director of the Nottingham Geospatial Institute, Faculty of Engineering

Dr Sarah Beardsley

Head of Space Engineering and Technology

Professor Stuart Marsh

Deputy Director and Professor of Geospatial Engineering Nottingham Geospatial Institute, University of Nottingham

Professor Barry Evans

Professor-Information Systems Engineering

Dr Patrick Harkness

Reader (Systems Power & Energy)

Professor Abdulnaser Sayma

Professor of Energy Engineering

Professor Paul Palmer

School of GeoSciences University of Edinburgh

Professor Chris Merchant

Professor and Research Division Lead University of Reading

Members of the NERC EO Centres

The NCEO are a NERC research centre with more than 80 scientists distributed across leading UK universities and research organisations and led by Professor John Remedios at the University of Leicester.

Dr Nicholas Walton

Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge

Professor Mike Watson

Professor of High Energy Astrophysics

Dr Victoria Bennett

Director of the STFC Centre for Environmental Data Analysis

Member Organisations

04 December 2019

ESA ministers commit to biggest ever budget

ESA’s Council at Ministerial Level, Space19+, has concluded in Seville, Spain, with the endorsement of the most ambitious plan to date for the future of ESA and the whole European space sector. Full Article and charts.

14 October 2019

New £1 million grant to study space weather

Open University researchers have received £1 million from the UK Space Agency to contribute to the design of new sensors to study space weather. A team of researchers in the OU’s Centre for Electronic Imaging, led by Dr Matthew Soman, Space...

25 September 2019

£20 million project to tackle space weather

SWIMMR (Space Weather Instrumentation, Measurement, Modelling and Risk) is a £20 million, four-year programme that will look to improve the UK's capabilities for space weather monitoring and prediction. Link to the news on RAL Space's website